When browsing the Behance Network recently, you may have seen some mentions of “Safe Browsing” or “Mature content” settings.
We added a “Mature” setting for projects in order to give people who view the Behance Network the option of “Safe Browsing.” Many locations disallow websites that don’t offer “safe browsing,” so by implementing “safe browsing,” the Behance Network is now visible in more places–like the offices of recruiters and more international locations.
This was added in the spirit of helping your work be seen everywhere to give creatives as much exposure as possible, but was implemented in a way that will minimally affect your experience. When browsing Behance, the first time you come upon a project that is marked “mature,” you’ll be asked if you’d like to turn OFF safe browsing in order to view the project (and other mature projects). If you click “yes,” this setting will be saved and you will not be asked about this again. If you’d ever like to adjust your “safe browsing” setting, go to Account Settings –> Safe Browsing Filter.
You’ll also notice that when publishing your Behance project, you are now asked “Does this project contain mature content?” You will mark this “yes” or “no.” If you mark “yes,” those with “safe browsing” turned on will not see your project.
We define mature content as nudity, sexual themes, or extreme violence or gore. [More details]
If Behance has determined that your project contains mature settings, you have the option of removing the mature content, and submitting the project for review. To do this, go to Edit Project –> Settings –> Mature Content. If the mature content is removed, we’ll mark the project to be visible for safe browsing.
If you have any questions about “Mature” content, feel free to email the Behance team at energy[at]behance[dot]com for a consult